Apple cake

I am behind, behind, behind. I will confess that I have misplaced my copy of ‘Swallows and Amazons’ – if I haven’t found it within the week I will order a new one, and post the next chapter Very Soon. I have read another book-and-three-quarters, and will comment in an entertaining and erudite way as soon as my brain returns to functioning. I also owe several work-blog posts and a guest post on an new-and-exciting project (I will post a link when it happens!), all of which I really want to write, but it has clogged my brain.

apple-cake

So for today, you get cake. This is not a baking blog. Probably.

I’ve been working on a recipe for cake which is both vegan and gluten free, and I think I might have found it.

As a bonus, it uses up some of the super-squishy apples from the tree at work. The one in the picture is very slightly burnt in one corner and very slightly undercooked in the middle, so I’ve adjusted the temperature a bit.

The recipe is in cups, because I was adapting several American recipes, and because it’s easy. Apparently a US cup is officially 236ml. I used a smallish mug, and filled comfortably but not to the top.

Gluten free, vegan apple cake

Mix 1 Tbsp chia seeds (or ground flax seeds) with 3 Tbsp water. Set aside.

In a small bowl, mix:

  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1/2 cup fine cornmeal
  • 1/2cup ground almonds
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg (less if it’s freshly grated)

In another bowl, mix:

  • 2-3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups apple sauce (very runny, slightly sweetened stewed apple)
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla

Add the soaked chia seeds or flax seeds and mix thoroughly, then mix in the dry ingredients.

Pour into a greased, base-line loaf tin, and bake at 170’C for an hour or so. When a skewer comes out clean, leave it another couple of minutes – the apple makes it quite gooey. Then remove from the tin and leave to cool on a wire tray.

Leave a Reply

