The Force Awakens

So apparently I do film reviews as well now. Here be spoilers. Big spoily spoilers. You have been warned.

Yesterday, I went to see “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”.  I think this is the first time I’ve ever seen a film on the day it came out, and I am very excited about that.

Also, I really enjoyed it. So that was lovely, and also a huge relief. Imagine if it had been another Phantom Menace! But no – it was so close to the original trilogy to be almost a remake, or maybe a “greatest hits”. It put me in mind of the recent reworkings of traditional fairy stories which I have so enjoyed, or maybe a jazz piece which quotes motives from well-known works – except, of course, that it’s basically quoting itself. That was an interesting dynamic.

There’s quite a bit of diversity, with a black Storm Trooper (who is explicitly not a clone, so I don’t know what all that fuss was about), a female main character, and quite a few older people around getting on with things. There’s even an AI mental health sub-plot, although it’s not all that subtle or developed. The only explicit romance is between Old People, which I quite liked.

Plot summary: There are two young people who are obviously destined for each other, but never actually have time to get together, which I’m OK with. There’s also a girl who is quite incredibly awesome (almost too awesome, actually – usually we restrict it to one or two superpowers per character), who spends quite a bit of time rescuing one of them and letting him know in no uncertain terms that no, she really still doesn’t need any rescuing, thank you very much.

Then they team up with a grown-up Malcolm Reynolds to defeat Mal’s son, young-Snape, who is being schooled in evil by giant Gollumdemort. Along the way, they seek help from ET (who apparently has a crush on Bungle, which is hastily brushed over – I found this the least satisfying element of the film) and Lovely Matt Off Of Heroes Who Looks A Bit Like My Friend Brian. And there is lots of  face-acting and swelling chords and general nostalgia, all of which combined to leave me in tears for about 80% of the film. (I am somewhat weepy, in general.)

Possibly my favourite exchange in the film (apart from being gun-based, but you know, it’s got “war” in the title, I think we have to accept that it’s going to be quite fighty):

  • “Here, have this [gun].”
  • “I think I can handle myself, thank you.”
  • “Yes, I know you can. That’s why I’m giving it to you.”

<tears>

4 thoughts on “The Force Awakens

Leave a Reply

